Birthday Cheesecake

20151122_202224

Cheesecake, now with pretty, pretty sprinkles.

I enjoy the birthday cake/ cake batter taste.  It’s a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine.  I’ve tried flavored cookies, ice cream, vodka, among others.  So, November being my birth month, I wanted to try to make a Birthday (or Cake Batter) flavored cheesecake.

The biggest issue was finding out what that flavor is.  A lot of recipes I looked at either used Cake Batter flavoring (which I couldn’t find in my grocery store) or used cake mix from a box.  I did not want to use the cake mix because I didn’t know how it would change the consistency or baking time of the case.

A number of recipes indicated the flavor was a mix of vanilla and almond extracts, so I went with that.  The issue then was one of ratio, as vanilla is already used in the cheesecake.  How much almond should I use in relation to vanilla?  I started with a one to one ratio, but after tasting I shifted to about 1.5 almond: 1 vanilla.  Also, I added sprinkles and reduced the amount of sugar by 1/3.  Hoping everything would balance out.

The result?

It doesn’t taste like Birthday Cake or Cake batter, which was disappointing, but it turned out to be an amazing cake anyway.  It has a strong almond taste, but not so overpowering the cake isn’t tasty.  And it looks pretty with the sprinkles.

I’ll have to experiment with the flavors to try and get that birthday balance before I try making the cheesecake again.  But if I can get it right, I expect I’ll be a happy camper.

If anyone reading this has any ideas on how to make that Birthday / Cake Batter taste, please let me know.  Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

