October into November

October’s Challenges came out better than I thought they might, with 5 Successes, 4 partials, and 3 started.

  • Success
    • Candy Corn Cheesecake
    • Breakfast Rolls (Which became Coffee cake, but it counts)
    • Books (both Baron Munchhausen and The Dead Zone)
    • Event (Switched to Minnesota Book Fair and success!)
    • Finish 3rd Draft: Kind of a stretch since I haven’t finished writing, but I’ve outlined the rest, so I at least know how it’s going to end, even if I haven’t written it down.
  • Partial Success
    • Sweet Potatoes (Only got one recipe in)
    • Blog (got a lot of work done, but I’ve been having some fun writing this combat blog, so I’m going to keep at it).
    • Dad’s Movies (Watched Pan’s Labyrinth and The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford).
    • Exercises (6 of 12)
  • Started (Not over half)
    • Acoustic Guitar (1 of 8)
    • Bass Guitar (1 of 8)
    • Best Picture Movies (4 of 9): The French Connection; The Sting; One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest; Annie Hall

Not bad. I like the organization I’ve got for the month (weekly goals instead of a monthly calendar) but again, I start strong and get off track after about a week. I’m going to give it another shot, see if I can stay with it for a bit longer.

...and no, I'm not turning one.

…and no, I’m not turning one.

NOVEMBER

November is my birth month (yay!). So I’m making a couple of these challenges in the theme of ‘Happy Birthday to me!’ I don’t know what event I’ll go to yet, and I want to work on the Combat Blog some more, so that’s recycled, but in a good way.

  • Cheesecake Birthday Cake Cheesecake
  • Bread: Bread Rolls
  • Vegetable Kohlrabi
  • Acoustic Guitar 8 x 30 minute sessions
  • Bass Guitar 8 x 30 minute sessions
  • Blog             10 sessions working on the Combat blog post
  • Book Watership Down
  • Event TBD
  • Best Picture Movies (12)
    1. The Deer Hunter
    2. Kramer v Kramer
    3. Ordinary People
    4. Chariots of Fire
    5. Gandhi – Saw many years ago; should watch again
    6. Terms of Endearment
    7. Amadeus – Saw many years ago; should watch again
    8. Out of Africa
    9. Platoon – Saw many years ago; should watch again
    10. Last Emperor – Know I’ve seen bits of, if not the whole movie
    11. Rain Man – Know I’ve seen bits of, if not the whole movie
    12. Driving Miss Daisy – Know I’ve seen bits of, if not the whole movie
  • Dad’s Movies 3 movies
  • Exercises 3 per week
  • Book Work
    1. Week One: Finish Main Storyline
    2. Week Two: Finish/decide on the Villain Story Line
    3. Week Three: Work on consistency
    4. Week Four: General Revisions

Going 12 for 12 on a Birthday month would be pretty great. Can I do it?

Leave a Reply

