Book – The Surprising Adventures of Baron Munchausen

51gKiIXYE4L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_The Surprising Adventures of Baron Munchausen was a book I didn’t realize existed until recently.  I enjoyed the movie when I was a kid, but I hadn’t realized it was a fantastical tale book from the same era as Gulliver’s Travels.  So it became my September book.

The story is told as if the Baron is recounting his exploits to the writer, and begins with slight exaggerations before advancing to grandiose claims.  He visits the moons several times, travels the world with astonishing speed, and is never truly challenged in his adventures.

The adventures themselves are numerous but short.  I commented on this to my dad, who mentioned that a reader might take the story and retell it with embellishments of their own, personalizing it for the audience.  I more imagined that the Baron was drinking during the course of the interview, starting with shooting down a flock of birds with one shot to dragging a squadron of man-o-wars from England to the Mediterranean with a chariot pulled by crickets.

Would I recommend this?  I’m not sure.  It is an easy and quick read, but also frustrating as the character is such a Mary Sue that I’m tempted to change the label to a Baron Munchhausen.  Who knows, it could inspire you to something.

Leave a Reply

