Double Post: Eggplant Parmesan and A Man for All Seasons

Eggplant Parmesan

20150904_224347Making eggplant Parmesan was an interesting experience.  Eggplant is one of those vegetables people seem to love or hate.  I looked up how to prepare eggplant, salting the vegetable for half an hour before I started the process.

I used this recipe here, the simplest recipe I could fine.  Two layers of sliced breaded eggplant with tomato sauce, Mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses.  Baked, I thought of it like making lasagna with eggplant instead of noddles.

How did it turn out?  Well, it turned out okay.  Eggplant is an odd vegetable to get used to, and I’ve never tried it in a restaurant, which may explain why it tastes so odd for me.  Also, the lower level (immersed in sauce) came out much differently from the top layer, which had the cheese baked right onto it.

In the future, I’d spent some more time prepping and breading the eggplant better, use a homemade sauce, and only one layer.  But I do get enough leftovers to play with.  Maybe I can puzzle out some of my own touches for the dish.

A Man for All Seasons

A_Man_for_All_Seasons_(1966_movie_poster)Oh? And when the last law was down, and the Devil turned ’round on you, where would you hide, Roper, the laws all being flat? This country is planted thick with laws, from coast to coast, Man’s laws, not God’s! And if you cut them down, and you’re just the man to do it, do you really think you could stand upright in the winds that would blow then? Yes, I’d give the Devil benefit of law, for my own safety’s sake! – Sir Thomas More

A historical movie about the conflict between Sir Thomas More and King Henry VIII, based off the play of the same name (adapted to the screen by the playwright and staring the same actor in the role of More).

This is one of those movies that has really great dialogue.  Sir Thomas More comes across as a very calm, confident man, who turns the arguments of his opponents on their heads.  His opponents come off as petty, corrupt and broken, and King Henry as childish.  As a historical movie, it certainly made me want to read more about what actually happened.

Beyond the dialogue, the movie is pretty solid.  It lacks any huge productions of King Henry VIII’s court, instead using period buildings and rooms.  There is very little time lost in the story, delving right into the conflict and ending with the same.

A good movie, one I want to watch again.

Leave a Reply

