Movie: Sound of Music

Sound_of_musicvon Trapp: Fraulein, were you this much trouble in the Abbey?

Maria: Oh, much more, sir.

It’s one thing to point out that I haven’t seen this movie since I was a child.  It is another thing to realize exactly what that means.  Last time I saw this movie, I knew Nazis were bad guys, but I didn’t know why.  I did not understand Austria versus Germany.  Most of the foreshadowing and conflict between the Captain and the Political Machine went way over my head.

Watching this again as an adult, I finally get the whole force of the movie.  Sure, I remembered the songs from when I was younger, at least most of them.  What was new was the Captain watching the growing threat from Germany and fighting back against it.  It was knowing what the bad guys represented.  It is amazing what a difference it makes.

I really don’t think I have to say much more about this movie.  It’s such a classic, I’d be surprised if anyone reading this hasn’t seen it. If you haven’t, what are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

