Two Sauces: Mushroom and Hollandaise

I did manage to get two more sauces done before the end of the month.

20150622_184216 First was a Mushroom Sauce recipe, a ‘Quick and Easy’ recipe that is basically mushrooms and onion in a broth of stock thickened with butter.  It turned out pretty well.  I had it with Chicken (though I found it as a steak sauce).

Second, and most importantly, was my attempt to make Hollandaise sauce.

I love Hollandaise sauce.  It is a favorite of mine, and I always seriously consider the dishes that come with it when I go out to eat.  When I’ve made it at home before, it’s been one of those packs you milk and butter to, but never have I tried making it from scratch.

20150625_180905The recipe I found was pretty simple.  I actually had all the ingredients at home already, so it was just a question of giving it a shot.  So I made the sauce, along with oven roasted asparagus and salmon.

It didn’t taste bad, but it didn’t taste much of anything.  When I used it on the asparagus it tasted like a more buttery asparagus.  The cayenne and white pepper just sort of disappeared.  I brought the leftovers in for lunch the next day, adding a bit more seasoning, at which point the sauce went from bland to ‘far too spicy.’  Obviously, this will require a lot of work.  Maybe I’ll try to find a different recipe before I try again.  But I don’t want to give up on either recipe.

Leave a Reply

