Best Picture: How Green was my Valley

How_Green_Was_My_Valley_posterHuw Morgan: [narrating] Men like my father cannot die. They are with me still, real in memory as they were in flesh, loving and beloved forever. How green was my valley then.

The 1941 Best Picture winner is set in Wales in the 19th Century, but was shot in California due to the Second World War.  Told through the eyes of Hew Morgan, the youngest of seven siblings, the family experiences hardship and tragedy.

This is not a movie about a particular event, but the series of events a family goes through during the course of the years.  Though I must admit I am presuming it is over the course of years.  The movie never really tells the date (except for mentioning Queen Victoria, which limits the possible time frame to a little over 60 years).

I did enjoy the movie, with a number of eye rolls at events in their time period that were so scandalous then, that we now don’t much think on.  If I had to admit to one major dislike, it was that Roddy McDowall, who plays Huw, is so young (12 years old) that it is difficult to believe he had matured at all by the end of the film.

Interesting Fact: The movie was meant to be a four hour long epic along the lines of Gone with the Wind.

One thought on “Best Picture: How Green was my Valley

Leave a Reply

